40th ordinary session of the NBA Council of Ministers, November 22-26, 2021, Ouagadougou


Mr. Abdel Kader DODO, Coordinator of the Sahara and Sahel Observatory Water Department, attended the meeting of the Technical Committee of Experts in Ouagadougou, November 22-25, 2021 as a prelude to the 40th ordinary session of the Council of Ministers of the Niger Basin Authority (NBA) due on November 26, 2021.

The meeting of experts is a permanent body of the NBA and aims to prepare the Council of Ministers. During this meeting, the committee examined the management of the institution and specific files related to the improvement of the NBA governance. The works will be submitted to the Council of Ministers for advice. This mechanism provides for a consensual and coordinated water management between member countries.

For the record, the NBA was created in 1964 and encompasses 9 countries, including 7 in West Africa and 2 in Central Africa, namely: Benin, Burkina Faso, Chad, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea, Mali, Niger and Nigeria.